Reflections from the water

Posted: May 28, 2014 by ivyvuu in Uncategorized

From John:

“Thought I would send more thoughts as I wait for the wind to subside.

It amazes me how I am only on day 5 and how many moral victories and defeats there have been.

It amazes me further how resourceful one must be purely to make the most of an opportunity. Using ferry passenger terminal as a makeshift office. Charging things in order of importance. Using a small bathroom sink to wash hair. Or small towelettes to wash the body. I look at homeless people with a much more compassionate eye than I ever have before. For all the times I have avoided giving them money to instead buy them a meal or warm drink, I wish I had done more.

Routines are plenty and the setup and pack up becomes like clockwork. It’s waiting out weather that ramps up the mental weight and game. Tears come easy and the desire for family is heavy.

It is truly now a task of making it about each day vs looking too far ahead. After tomorrow my waterways narrow and wind and currents become more of a factor. When in my favour, I should make good progress, when against me I may not even be able to get out on the water.

I desire to make some progress each day no matter the distance as it’s that much less to cover in the overall picture. And it brings me that much closer to home.”

Comments
  1. A journey over water has featured so often in literature…usually also being a journey of the soul. Keep strong and keep safe Johan. All the best.
    Sandy & Bill

  2. Dave and Pam says:

    John, you have so many people following your journey who are with you in spirit each step of the way. We hope you can feel our encouragement when you are feeling most alone out there! Wish we could help with the rowing. Stay strong!

    Dave and Pam

  3. dsilvashs says:

    “…May the wind always be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face. May the rains fall soft…” Remember and know that our love is always with you.

  4. John you are doing great! Love you and so proud! Amazing to see so many people behind you with their kind words … ❤

  5. dsilvashs says:

    I love you Padrinho! You are doing a great job. It’s ok that you will miss my Confirmation because you gotta do what you gotta do. I will remember you especially at my Confirmation. Keep It Up!
    By the Way, this is Miguel haha

  6. Karol says:

    Hi John – not sure when you will get this but you have Bill and I watching your progress almost hourly. We look out to the Strait and try to imagine how you are doing. We are so proud of you and appreciate your dedication. Safe crossings.

  7. LuMar says:

    You’re doing amazing John. We are all following your journey and praying for favourable winds, weather and strength. You have already achieved so much. Remember that. Anything more you do from here on out is honestly just a bonus. Lots of hugs ❤️

  8. Deanna Wong says:

    Keep going John!!!! WE BELIEVE YOU CAN DO IT !! 🙂 Wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

